The Chairs

Image

As promised, here is my post about the chairs that I purchased.  I bought them at The Salvation Army store.  As soon as I saw them, I knew they were exactly what I was looking for for my kitchen table.  The round backs will be perfect with the round table when the leafs are pulled out.  Here is a picture of the un-restored table.

Image

Only one leaf is put up in this photo.  I purchased this at the Goodwill for only $35!  It’s in almost perfect condition.  I just need to refinish the top of it because the finish is a bit sticky and worn down.  Otherwise, I think I’m going to leave this one as is.  But back to the chairs…

Like I said, I got them at The Salvation Army store.  There were 3 chairs to the set, but I only needed two.  So, I took the two that I wanted and left the last one at the store.  Total cost – $12.50 for both chairs.  Score!  Obviously, they are not the right color.  I never did get a photo of the chairs with the ugly cushions on them, but this is what the original cushions looked like.

Image

They probably weren’t that bad in their heyday, but they were pretty beat down by the time I got to them.  So, first I painted the chairs with Annie Sloan’s Old White.

ImageImage

I had to use 2 coats because I didn’t really want too much of the dark brown color to show through.  The beauty of this paint is that you don’t have to be really careful with it.  It’s actually better if you kind of slop it on.  Once it’s dry and you start to wax it, you get some really cool effects.  After I let the paint dry overnight, I used Annie Sloan’s Soft Wax and Dark Wax on both chairs.

Image

You can see here the difference between the waxed paint and the non-waxed paint. It really darkens it up with a nice aged look.  The key really is to be sure that you work in small areas and use a clean cloth to buff the waxed area once you’ve applied the wax.

Image

The chair on the right is waxed.  The chair on the left is not.  It takes some time and some patience, but it is so worth it in the end.  Believe it or not, the color turned out to be almost exactly like the table legs!  It’s like they were meant to go together.  After I was done waxing, and allowing them to cure for a while (a week, I think), I was ready to tackle the chair cushions.

Image

Believe it or not, I found this fabric at Joann’s over a year ago.  I didn’t buy it then, but took a picture of it for color reference.  I LOVE the fabric, but didn’t think I would actually get to use it on anything.  When I bought these chairs, I immediately went on a hunt for this fabric.  I still had the photo in my phone and I knew this is what I wanted.  To my shock and surprise, Joann’s still had it in stock – only 5 yards left!  I ran down and bought a yard and half.  It was on sale for $13.49 a yard AND I had a 20% off your entire purchase coupon. Score again!

My mother helped me a lot with this portion.  If you know me at all, you know that the sound of a sewing machine gives me hives.  All things sewing freak me out.  I can crochet, knit, embroider, cross stitch, and do just about any needle craft.  But fabric and sewing really freak me out!  Crazy, huh?  Well, we didn’t sew this, but I was so worried that I would mess up this beautiful fabric that I really needed my mom’s help!  So, she cut the fabric for me into the shape above.  Then we put the cushion on top…

Image

… then stapled and glued the crap out of it…

Image

When we got to this stage, we trimmed the excess fabric and glued it down to the wood.  This will keep it from fraying over time.  All that was left was screwing it back onto the chair.

Image

Aren’t they beautiful?  I wish I could show you what they look like with the table, but the table is packed in the back of the room where my furniture is stored.  But, trust me.  It’s beautiful.

Image

Image

(The dark area behind the cushion is a shadow.  It’s not really that dark.)

Image

Next week I will go over the boxes for the Expedit.  I was exhausted this week, so I didn’t really get to doing anything with them.  Let me know what you think of the chairs!  I would love to read your feedback!

One thought on “The Chairs

Leave a Reply

