Weak Ankles

For as long as I can remember, I have had incredibly weak ankles. When I was younger, I wanted to learn how to ice skate like the pros – doing all those wonderful jumps and twirls. Of course, what young girl doesn’t dream of that at one time or another? But, my ankles are just too weak. I would get on the ice, and my feet would instantly turn in. I could barely hold myself up.

Well, those weak ankles have gotten me into a lot of trouble over the years. And yesterday was no exception. While trying to get to the phone, I tripped over one of my poor cats, kicking him squarely in the noggin’, and falling right on my face. In the process, I sprained my ankle pretty badly.

I could hardly believe that it had happened. I believe this is the 5th or 6th time in my adult life that I have sprained my ankle. To be honest, I was very surprised when the doctor said that it was just a sprain. I was convinced that this time I had finally broken it. But thank God, I didn’t.

So here I sit, for the next 2-4 weeks, with my leg elevated, ice on for 20 minutes, ice off for 20 minutes, ibuprofen every 6 hours, completely helpless.

img_2103.jpg

For those of you who really know me, you know that this is not an easy task for me. I am definitely not one to sit still for very long. But, I also know, after doing this so many times, that if I don’t sit still, it will just take that much longer to heal.

So I sit, and I wait and I pray that God will show me why He wants me to slow down for a while.

3 thoughts on “Weak Ankles

  1. TAKE CARE YOU!!! I can only imagine how hard it must be to just lay around for days! The week after CE, I had to come home every nite and do nothing but elevate my “cankles” and that alone, made me crazy! Hope you are up and around real soon!

  2. Rebecca take care of your ankle /foot. They are the hardest injuries to heal since you are constantly irrating(sp) them by putting your weight on them to do anything. Take care honey. I hope you are better soon.

    Loretta

Leave a Reply

